MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Business of Knife Making

The Business of Knife Making A forum dedicated to all aspects of running, managing and legal operational issues relating to the custom knife making and custom knife selling industry.

Old 10-31-2013, 02:55 PM

full time?

I just started making knives and got addicted... I live in an apartmemt right now but I'm working on knives in my spare time at my dads I'm a kitchen manager and hate my job. Just looking for some advise on how to getstarted doing this full time.. thanks..
Old 10-31-2013, 05:57 PM
Steel Addict

Find a different job that you like. Sorry, but it's very hard to be a full time maker and make ends meet. Most all full timers either are retired, have a spouse that works a good job, etc.

Don't mean to burst your bubble, just telling you like it is.

Sorry.

D.B.A Craig's Outdoor Sports
Knifemaker and Gunsmith
Old 10-31-2013, 08:16 PM
Skilled

At a recent ABS hammer-in in Topeka, Kansas 8 Master Smiths had a question and answer period and were asked the same thing. They said it was only feasible for them to make a living full time by becoming debt free first, and having a solid reputation as a skilled knifemaker before doing so. Otherwise it is very difficult and very stressful counting on money to roll in. Just some interesting feedback from some masters.

Tony Z
Kansas City, MO

"Retreat? Hell, we just got here!"
Captain Lloyd Williams, USMC
Battle Of Belleau Wood June 1918
Old 11-01-2013, 11:14 AM
Steel Addict

I tried it for a while. I did OK, but nowhere near enough to support my other habits like hunting and fishing. Your best bet is to find a good job to make ends meet. I use my knives to support my hobbies.
Old 11-01-2013, 12:29 PM
Skilled

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCountry86 View Post