MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 08-12-2012, 12:15 AM
Skilled

file test or other means

My latest knife made 100 cuts through 3/4 sisal rope and still shaved arm hair, but slightly divited when i cut through bailing wire. I am assuming its somthing to do with the quench.
I cant seem to convince myself weather or not my blades are passing the file test after quench. Does anyone know if there is a video out there on the web of a file test tutorial, or another non destructive test method to test for a successful HT?
Old 08-12-2012, 12:45 AM
Master

I'm no expert here but I have noticed that the file test isn't all that accurate really. It's just showing that your knife is harder then the file. I did some tests on o1 and 1095 my files would honestly get wrecked from trying to file the steel on all the tests. But when I did some wire cutting some of the test pieces would chip some wouldn't do anything and others would roll an edge or indent and they all passed the file test.

I read in a few places and I know I'm going to get this wrong but I read something that said a piece of steel can pass the file test even if the HT is wrong. It's got something to do with the soft pearlite being surrounded with carbides? Does that sound right? So when you file it the steel seems hard but in between the hard carbides there can be soft pearlite. I guess that would make the file skate over the carbides but the wire is small enough to move the pearlite.

Sorry if I got that all wrong I'm still trying to wrap my head around this stuff.
Old 08-12-2012, 07:17 AM
Skilled