MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-05-2012, 11:42 AM
Steel Addict

How to thin bar stock?

I'm new here, this being my first post. I am new to knifemaking, so my experience is extremely limited. However, thanks to great websites such as this one, I can learn from others, and show off my ignorance every now and then. So let's get started showing you how little I know.......

I bought some W-2 bar stock (1/4"x2"x36") for a knife I would like to make for myself. This will be knife #2. The first knife, a drop point hunter I made out of 1084, is almost done, and will be a gift for my dad. I really got excited reading about W-2, and I want a nice hamon on my blade. Maybe it was just me, but for months I had a hard time finding W-2 in bar stock. There were round bars floating around, but I don't forge. So when I found this W-2, I jumped on it.

Here's my problem. 0.25" is too thick for the type of knives I want to make (nothing bigger than a 5" or 6" blade). 3/16" is really too thick for my purposes as well, but it's better than 1/4".