MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 10-16-2016, 05:36 PM
Steel Addict

very interested in learning to make knives in Ohio

I have recently got the bug to learn to make my own knives.
I have zero experience with anything related to knife making other than owning a few knives and owning a paper wheel and grinder to sharpen them. I am curious if there is anyone in ohio that has a forge and would be willing to show me around and show me the basics of knife making.
I plan to make my own forge and buy the necessary basic tools. I would like to see the process first hand so I know exactly what I am getting into and make sure it is something I would be able to do in my garage. I am located in Columbus, Ohio.
thanks
Kyle
Old 10-16-2016, 05:58 PM
Guru

Wished you lived near me as I have to live in an apt. and could help you quite a bit and could use a forge. All Right, any knifemakers near Columbus OH? There are some good knife forging videos on youtube if you want to see some of how it's done.
Old 10-16-2016, 06:01 PM
Skilled

Dang, you just missed quad state. that would have been a good place to start. Drop in to Rays chat for newbs tonight.
Old 10-16-2016, 06:21 PM
Steel Addict

Thanks! I plan to try and make the chat tonight.
Old 10-16-2016, 10:33 PM
Guru

Red face Kyle I'm sure you got an earfull tonight.