MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Knife Organizations and Club Boards > Texas Knifemakers and Collectors Association

Texas Knifemakers and Collectors Association Dedicated to promoting custom knives and knifemakers.

Old 12-17-2004, 11:11 PM

Is this a good deal?

I found a delta sander with a 1x30" belt and 5" disc sander for about 80$. I planned on using the sander to shape the pattern of my knives. Would a sander work good or am i better with something else. I dont have much money to spend but what do you guys recommend for me to use to shape the knives? I am new to all this stuff so i need to soak up as much information as possible. Thanks for all the help
Old 12-18-2004, 05:15 AM
Hall of Famer

Send a message via Yahoo to hammerdownnow
A lot of people disagree with the way I go about things, but that never stops me from shooting off my mouth. A 1x30 can be handy for handle shaping,and the disk can be helpfull in squaring up handle slabs. But, trying to grind an 8" bowie blade on a "wood sander" is a PITA! Those low hp. motors are just woefullly underpowered. If your heart is set on it, think about doing small blades to start with. Lots of folder makers use a 1x30. Also, some of them are easier to swap out motors on than others to soop em up. Knifekits.com has several good ideas to improve on them.