MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Knife Organizations and Club Boards > Texas Knifemakers and Collectors Association

Texas Knifemakers and Collectors Association Dedicated to promoting custom knives and knifemakers.

Old 12-15-2004, 10:27 PM

New need help plz

Hi i am new to knife making and was wondering if you guys could help me out with some questions. First what should i buy to shape the knives, I saw someone using a machine sander and was wondering if that would be ok to use. Also as i'm a beginner i was wondering what type of metal would be best to use. If you guys have any additional information i would love to hear it.
Thanks
Old 12-16-2004, 09:19 AM
Enthusiast

Well, first off welcome to the club. This is a great place for you to gather a wealth of information. I gathers a great deal of mine from here, and from a few books.

Now to you questions. About shaping your steel we'll need to know how you plan on making your knives. Do you plan on forging? Or do you plan on using stock removal?? Either way, the machine sander you discussed, which I would assume was a belt sander, will work great for either. But a bench grinder with a "table" to steady the work on would work good also.

As for the steel, you can get 1095 very easily from many different sources. It comes in a pretty wide variety of sizes and thicknesses, yet I find for forging its generally offered in sizes less suitable than I'd prefer. Not to say it couldn't be cut into the size you need, but if you'll go to http://www.admiralsteel.com/products/blades.html they offered the most variety of both different steel and various sizes. When compared to the knifemaking catalogs they generally have a much better prices.

Let us know if you plan on forging or using stock removal and we'll be able to offer more information on making your blades.

Have a good time,