MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 07-14-2013, 06:01 PM

Newbie Here!

Wanting to start making some knives. Any good videos showing tools and instructions. any good first projects?
Thanks!
Old 07-14-2013, 06:18 PM
Steel Addict

Check out the stickys in the newbie section. YouTube helps! Remember to keep it simple. Don't use mystery steel like files, saw blades, the stuff from Lowes. Don't try making any swords. A small hunter with a 3-4" blade is plenty. Use 1/8" 1080/1084. And most of all have fun!
Old 07-14-2013, 06:34 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Welcome to the forum! You might want to drop into the Chat Room this afternoon, it's easy, it's free, and it's a fast way to get a lot of your initial questions answered. Just go to http://www.rayrogers.com.chat/chat.htm and sign on with your KNET ID or your real name between 5 pm and 8 pm Pacific today....

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 07-15-2013, 06:12 AM
Steel Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naboyle View Post
Check out the stickys in the newbie section. YouTube helps! Remember to keep it simple. Don't use mystery steel like files, saw blades, the stuff from Lowes. Don't try making any swords. A small hunter with a 3-4" blade is plenty. Use 1/8" 1080/1084. And most of all have fun!
I will also add that you don't need a lot of equipment. Use whatever works. I am just starting out also and I use mostly just a file and sandpaper. Have fun

Old 07-17-2013, 06:22 AM