MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Community Discussion Boards > Knife Network Community > Knife Collecting

Knife Collecting From beginner to professional. Discuss the latest trends, get reviews, opinions and more ... If you're serious about collecting custom knives, start here!

Old 12-29-2000, 07:48 PM
viper5192

Dealer inquiry

I am just starting out dealing custom knives and want some info on how to be successful. Also what do you as buyers want to see from a dealer?

Peace

Paul
Circle P Knives
expage.com/circlepknives
Old 01-02-2001, 01:13 PM
JerryO13

Hi Paul,
How goes it?

This is a difficult question and very broad. I've been collecting for a bit and while I do trade and sell knives off I don't do it for a living. This will mean that my perspective of this will probably not be like yours. What I can tell you is what I look for in a knife dealer. Many of these things are the same things I look for in a knifemaker

First and foremost is honesty. As we all know "stuff" happens, can't help it, that's life. What I won't accept is excuses, If you have a problem getting something to me or you don't have it in stock tell me so. Maybe you don't want to say why something happened (it's personal) fine, maybe you forgot or missplaced the form, I won't be happy about it, but I'll be a lot angrier if you lie or pass the buck on it (ex. UPS did it when they didn't). This takes me to number 2 which is communication.