MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Folding Knife (& Switchblade) Forum

The Folding Knife (& Switchblade) Forum The materials, techniques and the designing of folding knives.

Old 08-30-2013, 02:29 PM

Question from a newbie

I'm brand new to KN and based on what I have observed regarding the quality and integrity of this site I know I am in the right spot to confidently ask my question regarding switchblade knives.

I am 61 years old and recently retired, and in exploring my new found freedom I am exploring interests that I have had for many years but neither had the time nor money to pursue. The reason for my question is because I now find myself with plenty of the time and still not much of the money.

I have always been intrigued with the art and the style of the traditional Italian Stiletto switchblade but never could afford a quality knife and did not want to even waste a small amount of money for a knife that is simply one notch above a toy or only good for opening letters. As a result, I have never even owned a cheap China made $15.00 knife. I would rather not own any rather than waste good money on junk.

I have recently been researching switchblade knives on most all of the on line stores and still cannot seem to find a quality knife that I can afford. The best quality knife that I can afford at the moment would be one that is Taiwan made and etched Milano on the blade.
However, I read that the safety button even on these better quality Taiwan Milano knives will even become loose and sloppy with extended use, making even these an unattractive choice for a knife.