MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > High-Performance Blades

High-Performance Blades Sharing ideas for getting the most out of our steel.

Old 09-27-2013, 11:33 PM

Question Rebar???

I'm brand new to knife making and i have rebar available. i just want to know if rebar works well for making knives.
Old 09-28-2013, 01:07 AM
Steel Addict

welcome to your new addiction.

re-bar is poor quality steel from recycling. its got low or no carbon to speak of so hardening and getting a good lasting edge isn't really possible.

if your new to knife making don't start out with mystery steel. the cost of good known steel like 1075, 1085 or even O1 is pretty cheap and after you put in 35 hours of filing the last thing you want is steel failure.

you might want to fill out your profile with some basic info like name and location. you might be surprised a knife maker might be right around the corner from you

Erik
Old 09-28-2013, 12:55 PM
Steel Addict

Save the rebar for holding damascus billets in a few years! Listen to what cutter has to say, that's some solid advise right there.
Old 09-29-2013, 10:41 AM

Thank you. Now I am wondering if I can use the rebar to make tongs.
Old 09-30-2013, 09:41 AM
Guru

You can use the rebar for tongs but it may not be the best choice. Since rebar is mainly made from melted scrap it will contain many different types of steel and may or may not be best for tongs. Ideally tongs should be of an iron or steel that won't harden or suffer from repeated water quenches.

Eventually you will need to weld a handle onto something and that's where I would use the rebar. [When I make handles I use a piece of it tack welded to a piece of pipe of equal size.]

Gary

Old 10-29-2013, 01:28 PM
Steel Addict