MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > High-Performance Blades

High-Performance Blades Sharing ideas for getting the most out of our steel.

Old 01-11-2009, 09:02 PM
Steel Addict

Complete Noob question on melting NS

ok, I am looking into making bolsters and pommels with Nickel Silver. Not knowing anything about the subject, I am trying to figure it out.
So, I figure you need a forge os some king, working on that.
Next I need a Crucible? what size type?? Ebay prices from $10 to $50
SO I figure I need a mold of some kind, lost wax or whatever. I am looking at that too. Lets assume for this thread I have a mold (right!)
OK, on to the material, What constitutes NS? Percentages? Are they important? What kind of temps are we talking about?
Do you mix your own recipe? off the shelf bars, ingots, coins?..
Thanks for helping me understand guys.
I am waiting on more grinder parts so until those get here I am trying to explode by brain in other areas.
Old 01-12-2009, 09:07 PM
Hall of Famer

Nickel silver does not lend itself to well to casting due to it's high melting point, greater than 2000 degress depending on the exact alloy, according to Tim McCreight in his book "Complete Metalsmith", professional edition. It also has a problem with oxidization which will cause bubbles in the metal. In either plastic or wax loss it would have to have a special high temperature investment.