MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 03-10-2012, 07:32 AM

im completely new to knife making

hello, im theo and im in the process of shaping the blade of my fist ever knife. i have never worked with meta before. the knife is full tang and made from a piece of old leaf spring i got from a blacksmith. i have quite a few questions so help with any of them would be most appreciated.

1. what finish should i have on the metal before i heat treat it?

2. is it really important to find out what metal it is before heat treating and tempering? if so, how does one go about doing it? (a forum said about 90% of leaf springs are 5160 steel)

3. some info says to heat it till it glows cherry red to heat treat it, others say specific temperatures. does it need to be that specific?

4. is it better to temper it with a flame and judge by the colour of the metal or by putting it in the oven for certain amount of time?

5. is there more than one way to heat treat and temper the blade and what gets the best results?

6. is it necessary/usual to use epoxy resin as well as pins to secure the handle?

i would like to add that i have a good workshop with proper metal working equipment at my disposal and like something challenging so am willing to try maybe the harder techniques if they get better results. i would also like to thank anyone one who his taking the time to answer the questions from newbies like me and like i said any answers would be most appreciated. cheers x
Old 03-10-2012, 09:01 AM
Founding Member / Moderator