MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 07-23-2013, 12:34 PM
Registered

Scrap Steel

Hello newbie here and I was messing around the shop earlier and noticed some steel tucked away in the corner of the shop. It has a steel works number on it and I wondered if it would be suitable to make a knife out of? I found it online:

http://www.sears.com/steelworks-bolt...SPM6166672405P

I just wondered if it would make a decent blade or would I be better using something else?
Old 07-24-2013, 08:13 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

Mystery steel is never a good idea for a first time knife maker. The steel you have there is just mild steel like you'd get at any hardware store. Don't waste your time and money, get the real deal. Buy some blade steel from any of the knife supply places. Get 1084 if you plan to do your own heat treating. If you can't find 1084 then get some 1095. If you want to send your blade out for heat treatment then get 440C. These steels are inexpensive, easy to heat treat, and will produce excellent blades....

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 07-24-2013, 09:39 AM
Steel Addict

That stuff you linked is analogous to 1020 to 1040. Close to useless when trying to make a knife.
Old 07-24-2013, 01:21 PM
Hall of Famer

As a general rule those things that make a steel alloy good for structural purposes make it bad for making blades and the things that make an alloy good for blades make it bad for structural purposes. In short, don't go looking for blade steel at a tool-in-a-box store.