MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-12-2004, 11:28 AM
Steel Addict

Tapping heads

I'm attempting my first folder this week. The Ti liners are ground to shape and the pivot pin and stop pin are drilled and in place. I am using 1-72 screws for all else. I'm ready to drill the tap holes for these screws then tap with my tapping head I'll be buying on Tuesday.I've never used a tapping head before. Can I tap through BOTH liners at the same time and still be able to start the screws from the opposite liner or should I tap them 1 at a time from the outside of each liner?
If tapping them both at the same time would be OK, I was thinking of trying to find a drill/tap combo in 1-72 for a one step operation. Thanx, Pat
Old 12-12-2004, 12:01 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

A) You don't need a tapping head to work on folders. Ihave one and make lots of folders, but never use the tapping head for that kind of light work. If you want to use one that's fine, just drill you holes larger than normal to reduce the virtual certainty of breaking taps if you were to use the standard sized holes on small taps in a pwered head. Lots of people will disagree with what I just said. Tough. It's your money, spend it any way you please.