MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-30-2013, 08:18 PM
Enthusiast

Question Wakizashi question

im thinking of making a Wakizashi out of 1086 stock removal blade 17 to 20 inch long & trying my first hamon how can i keep the blade striated ?
Old 12-31-2013, 09:53 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

Striated?

Your question may already have been answered - try the Search button first!

Old 12-31-2013, 10:10 AM
Enthusiast

Warning - I'm a complete newb, but I have been reading up quite a bit on this forum and others as well as the Bob Engnath pages. Specifically with respect to Japanese inspired designs and hamons. Here are some of the bits I have found:

- Creation of a visible hamon in a carbon steel blade can vary widely and it's not simply the amount of carbon in the steel. Many very striking hamon are seen in steels around the 1050 point. Apparently higher amounts of manganese will suppress the visibility of the hamon. You may want to run a small test sample of your steel through the HT process to see if you can get a hamon out of it before you start grinding out the wakizashi.

- Failure rates of blades during differential hardening are high. Personally I would start with a smaller (tanto) sized blade before attempting something as big as a wak.

-Did you mean "straight" or "striated" in your post? If the former then from what I have seen the differential process will impart some curve (sori) to the blade. This is also the source of a lot of stress and failures from cracking. From what I understand this can be mitigated somewhat by not claying the back (ha) of the blade, but someone with a lot more experience than me should chime in here.

Hope this helps,

-bill