MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Factory Knife Customization & Mid-Tech Boards > Knife Kits Forum

Knife Kits Forum New to the art of knife making? Learn to make awesome knives, using advanced hands-on training inside. From KnifeKits.com.

Old 10-12-2005, 02:33 PM

Question DDR3BL Assistance Needed

Hello To All, new to this forum and to the world of knife kit(s) assembly. I'm a police officer for a small community in SW Ohio and was hoping to try my hand at building knives with the Knife-Kits Kits. As an armorer for a handful of firearms mfgr's I'm familiar with working with small parts, tools & patience.
I recently ordered the Knife Kits DDR3BL & DDR3LL kits. As an afterthought, I was wondering what all went into converting either of these knives/kits to an automatic. If there's a link I missed in searching, I'd surely appreciate a pointer to its location. If there is a relatively easy/short explanation a member is willing/able to give I'd be very thankful. In short, any and all help in this project will help me out greatly. I'm hoping this building effort goes well & the finished product impresses my Chief enough to allow me to build for other officers in my dept.
Thanks in advance!
Bryant (brutaldiver)
Old 10-12-2005, 08:48 PM
Skilled

Good evening Bryant,

Welcome to the forums! You'll find a great deal of info here and a lot of great knifemakers.

The .375 spring fits the DDR3-BL. I used the Maxx version. Gives a good kick.

Don't know how to convert the Liner lock (yet!). Have fun and let us see what you finish.

Bill
Old 10-12-2005, 09:05 PM

Bill,
Thanks for the welcome! I'm pretty pumped about getting these kits. I had to reschedule some physical therapy and a few other things just so I'd be here when they were to be delivered. I was going to wait for the weekend to begin work on them but, heck, who am I kidding.