MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum

The Sheath/Holster Makers Forum This is the place to discuss all forms of sheath and holster making.

Old 12-12-2004, 03:17 PM
Guru

Forming a sheath.

Ok all you sheath experts.....Ive completed a pouch sheath (very basic). Now that its done Ive realized that it needs a little forming to the knife to accomplish two things 1. hold the knife a little better 2. stop it from dropping down as far as it is. The sheath is all sewn up and ready for coloring. Is it ok to put some moisture to it now to give it a small amount of form ? If so, which is better, water or Acetone ?

Thanks for any help,

Shane

shane@shaneivieknives.com
Old 12-13-2004, 08:35 AM
Skilled

Shane:

I am no expert by any means, however, I use warm water in a spray bottle. Don't soak the leather, just wet it enough to make it pliable. Lightly wet the entire surface or you might wind up with a water line stain.

Be sure to wrap your blade in saran wrap. Start moulding around the handle being careful not to let your fingernails dig into the leather.

I usually hang the moulded sheath, with the knife still in it, over a fan to speed drying.

Maybe somebody out there has a better way. Hope this helps.

Robert
Old 12-13-2004, 09:06 AM
Skilled

Forming a sheath