MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 04-16-2013, 09:25 PM

Yet Another New Guy...

Howdy everybody! Just dropping in with an introduction and a few (longwinded?) questions.

I'm new to knifemaking, of course, but I've got plenty of experience working with my hands (building RC model aircraft is my main hobby) and I've always had a natural aptitude for such things. I like knives and I like making things, so I figured I'd try combining the two... At the moment I'm thinking I'd like to start with a basic hunting knife for whitetails and coyotes, so after lots of revisions I've drawn up a design I think I like (pic attached). At the moment I'm planning to use 1/8" 440C for the blade and some colorful homemade micarta for the handle, but I might switch to wood for simplicity. Any major errors so far?

Ok, next question. Grinder. I don't have anything in that department and buying a "good one" just isn't a financial option for me, so I'm planning to make a 2x72 from scratch. I've been doing lots of reading on the subject and I think I have it figured out for the most part. The wheels have me thinking a little, though - what's stopping me from using stripped unbeveled bicycle hubs as idlers (besides the awkward look)? They turn very smooth and true, they're plenty strong enough, and I have access to a warehouse full of them for free.