MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-28-2013, 10:23 PM

440C chisel edged knife bowed after heat treat

Hello All, I am a newbie and have searched the interwebs for the answer to this question with vague results (sometimes it works sometimes not). I am an Ice Sculptor and as such use many cutting instruments to complete my work. Starting this year I have begun making and selling various rotary tool bits which led me to wanting to make an ice carving specific knife.

The knife I designed is made of 440C and is full tang with a 6" handle and a 6" chisel edged blade at about 20 degrees, the back is flat but hollowed slightly so as to afford easier sharpening. I drilled all of my pin holes and beveled the edge to about 1/32" before sending off to the heat treater.

When my steel returned from HT nothing seemed out the ordinary but upon closer inspection found that the entire knife bowed (concave on the backside) ever so slightly to one side (I have been told not to go back to that heat treater, but at the same time wonder if it is because of the chisel edge), almost unnoticeable. However, my perfectly flat scales do not fit so perfectly to the steels bowed condition.

My question now is "What did I do wrong, and how can I avoid this issue in the future?"

Thanks in advance for any wisdom you can shed on my plight. I am sure I missed a step or rushed the gun somewhere. The pic above is the condition they where in when I sent them of to HT.
Old 06-29-2013, 07:38 AM
Founding Member / Moderator