MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 07-30-2005, 07:06 PM
Enthusiast

Adding Serrations to Hardened Steel

I'm new to this forum and knifemaking. I am an experienced woodworker and a good friend has whetted my appetite to try to make a knife. I purchased a finished blade made from 440V. With the handle design I'm working on, I think the knife will be enhanced with some serrations on the top of the blade just in front of the scales. Is is reasonable to try to grind these with a small wheel on a Dremel tool on this hard steel? Any other methods? Thanks for your help.
Old 07-30-2005, 10:15 PM
Hall of Famer

Send a message via Yahoo to DiamondG Knives
Bill

Just my opinion here, but if you will use a triangle file you will have much more control than a dremel. Many folks do it with a dremel, but I would highly suggest you try it on some other steel first, to get the feel for it. Nothing like botching a finished blade with the slip of a power tool! (dont ask me how I know!!)

Also, if you are wanting a thumb stop/grip, you might look at a checkering file, Uncle Al's sells them as do Brownell's, the one I have is 20 teeth per inch, cuts grooves perfectly aligned, and depth. The are kinda pricey ($20 or so) but make the finished product look very profesionally done. And it helps take the "OOPS!" factor away.

God Bless and Good Luck!
Mike

Old 07-30-2005, 11:50 PM
Living Legend

The very first time I put saw teeth or serations on blade I used a triangle file and they turned out perfect. I first did a couple practice notches on some scrap. The file cost's $4.95 and worked great. Everyone was convinced I milled them and did not believe me that I did them by hand.