MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Heat Treating and Metallurgy

Heat Treating and Metallurgy Discussion of heat treatment and metallurgy in knife making.

Old 10-16-2013, 08:02 AM
Enthusiast

Heat treat quandry

Okay, newbie here.

Just a bit of background, this question is regarding my first knife made from scratch, material removal method, using 3/32" O1. I don't have a picture of the blade in its current condition, but I think I can express the situation well enough without a visual reference. It's a skinner with a gut hook, overall length just shy of 9", cutting edge length about 3", overall height ~1 1/2".

I ground the blade progressively from 60 -380 grit on my cheapie Harbor Freight grinder, leaving the edge ~.020 flat. I hand filed the gut hook and hand sanded heavy grinder marks out of the cutting edge so as not to leave any stress concentrators during hardening.

I was lucky enough to stumble upon a digital heat treat oven for a good price, a Ney Vulcan 3-550, FWIW.

After doing a ton of research, mostly from data supplied by Crucible, I finally got the guts to heat treat my first blade, using the following procedure.

Knife stood on edge, supported by Ti pins drilled into a strip of firebrick to promote even heating.
Programmed the oven to slowly ramp (22? /minute) to 1300? for stress relief, hold for 20 minutes.
Second step raised temp, again at 22? deg/min, to 1475?, hold for 20 minutes.