MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 03-06-2013, 07:46 PM

New to the knife world

Hello everyone! As stated in the title I am new to the knife making world. And I am blown away at the craftmanship that I have been seeing. I am a ways away from making my 1st knife but I have been doing alot of research and reading. Today I just got "How to make a knife" by Barney and Loveless and "$50 Knife Shop" by Goddard. Is there anything else yall would suggest? Also I live in Duncan, Oklahoma which is about 40 minutes from Texas is there anyone close by that would mentor or help point me in the right direction? I look forward to hearing from yall!
Old 03-06-2013, 08:36 PM
Steel Addict

welcome man! I'm from North Texas around the denton area. long way from teaching anybody anything though.. lol
Old 03-07-2013, 08:49 PM
Skilled

It is a wonderful thing to learn. Welcome and I am anxious for you to learn and also to find someone to help you, and you will. No doubt, this a great group to help.
Old 03-08-2013, 07:25 AM

Get together anyway....you can teach each other.....keep checking and putting out feelers....soon there will be three of you....then it's a movement and you'll have to hide your activities from Big Brother...what an awful mess you've gotten us into Olley!
Really, you will be surprised how much faster you can learn working together. Two heads thing.

Registered Master Artist - GA Council for the Arts
C Rex Custom Knives

Blade Show Table 6-H
Old 03-08-2013, 10:59 AM
Skilled

Quote:
Originally Posted by skamrath1 View Post