MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 09-22-2012, 11:22 AM
Registered

Tinting Epoxy

I am new to knife making and interested in completing filework to enhance the knives I am working with. Can anyone tell me what type of epoxy can be tinted without reducing the holding power of the epoxy. I have read several posts regarding various brands of epoxy including West System and others. I have used System Three epoxy in the past and tinted it with black pigment to fill voids in mesquite. I am wanting to use the epoxy to fill the area between my file work and the scales. Any help offered is welcomed.
Old 09-22-2012, 12:13 PM
Skilled

Lots of opinions on this subject to be sure.
Consider me an big fan of System Three and their proprietary pigments.
There are other products that work well also, hopefully others will chime in with alternative suggestions. I'm new to knifemaking but know what to expect from S3 since I've used it on many art and furniture projects (with great success) in the past and use it to fill filework with confidence.
Here is a pic of some filework that I had great results filling with S3 Mirror Coat and their black pigment. I use this knife a lot... zero problems.

Old 09-22-2012, 03:15 PM
Master

I think most epoxies can be tinted without problems. The problems occur with the tinting agent. If you use it in too high of concentration it will reduce the holding power...and if you use the wrong type of tint it can reduce the holding power.