MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-05-2012, 10:08 PM
Master

Graduation

So lately the theme has been graduation. I graduated college three weeks ago with a B.S. in Forestry and a certificate in Human Dimensions of Forest Management. I also feel like I've hit a big milestone in my knife making. So I've sort of decided to graduate myself from beginner/novice to intermediate. Here are the last two knives I've made, and the end of what I like to think of as my first series, first generation knives, or "the early years." I made my first blade 1-1/2 years ago. Lately I have been spending much less time making knives and much more time in development and research, involving but not limited to bronze casting/working, brazing, new guard designs, and working on bringing my sheath work up to par (still gettin' there!).

The first knife has been in the works for a year now. My professor commissioned it and I originally made the blade from D-2. Texasknife lost it in their facility, and then mailed it to the wrong person. Got it eventually and handsanded it only to have mysterious pitting. Ground it out, appeared again. Was well oiled and put away. Remade it out 1084, differentially hardened. Sole authorship was the only way I could guarantee the work. African blackwood handles with 416 SS bolsters, spacers, and corby rivets. Double vine filework on blade spine and handle spine. Filework cuts on the blade spine are cold blued for extra corrosion resistance and visual contrast. Again, sheathwork needs improving, but getting there.

Old 06-05-2012, 10:15 PM
Master