MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Tool Time

Tool Time Let's talk shop. Equipment, Tips & Tricks, Safety issues - Post it here.

Old 03-08-2004, 03:46 PM
Enthusiast

Electric motor uses?

I am just starting out making knives and am trying to set up my shop in the garage. I friend recently gave me a Baldor Industrial 2.5hp 2400rpm motor and I am trying to find a good use for it. I sure would appreciate any suggestions from those of you that have built your own equipment as to good possible uses.

Thanks,

Mark
Old 03-08-2004, 11:50 PM
Steel Addict

Blind Dog [Terry McMaster] set up his main workbench with a single motor attached to a long shaft. He runs his grinder and a ton of buffers and wheels all on that one shaft. He used belts and pillow blocks for the connections. The buffers and such are all mounted on a hinged board, with the weight of the buffers and stones holding the board down. Whichever thing he is using next is just lifted and the belt slipped onto a pully on the shaft, then set back down. The pulleys allow him to optimized the speed for each 'work station'.
If I was setting up a new shop that is what I would do. The only change I would make is the belts- I would use the link belts so you don't have to tear anything down if a belt breaks. The link belts also allow you to adjust tension almost effortlessly by adding or removing a link to the belt.
The other advantage is you don't need to keep buying another motor with every tool. Kinda like the old shops that had the power rod down the center of the ceiling, connected to machines via canvas belts.
Might give this a little thought.
Dave

Last edited by WinDancer; 03-08-2004 at 11:53 PM.
Old 03-15-2004, 06:04 PM
Enthusiast

Thanks for the tip

I hadn't thought of that. I envision 6 buffers set up. Thanks again.

Mark