MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 03-30-2010, 02:55 PM

1075/1080 or 1095 Steel for a first knife?

I am just starting out with my adventure into knife making and need a bit of advice on what steel to start with. A bit of background on me (hope its helpful). I have a read a lot (but I?m sure there is tons more out there) on knife making and heat treating. I have decided to do stock removal and heat treat the blade myself. I will mostly be doing the work by hand, I want to start slow and take my time. I have a fair amount of metal working experience and access to most of the tools to match (lathe, mill, surface grinder, hydraulic press, arc welder, oxy torches?). I am in the process of building a basic forge to do the heat treat on my blade. I have what I thing is a ?sold? idea of the theory of how to make the knife and heat treat it, we will see how reality matches up.
My steel choices are 1075/1080 or 1095 steel from Admiral Steel. I chose the simple carbon steels so I can heat treat it my self and I get a bunch of steel to work with fairly cheap that will make a decent knife.

My question is should I start out with a 1075/1080 or 1095 steel from Admiral Steel? I understand all the metallurgy of both steels.
What I am unsure of is which one would most likely yield better end results for a beginner? It is my understanding that 1095 can yield a better edge and the 1075/80 will be easier to do a good heat treat on. I am looking to make something like a camp/hunting knife with a 4? blade.

Any guidance on which steel (1075/1080 or 1095 or something else) to start with would be greatly appreciated.
Old 03-30-2010, 03:22 PM
Hall of Famer