MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Ed Caffrey's Workshop

Ed Caffrey's Workshop Talk to Ed Caffrey ... The Montana Bladesmith! Tips, tricks and more from an ABS Mastersmith.

Old 11-01-2012, 09:42 PM
Steel Addict

Some guard help

I finally finished a fair amount of building and fabricating and my "shop" is relatively done . So, I started getting stuff together to work on a knife and I've somehow managed to lose my bar of nickel silver..... But, I do have a bar of 416 stainless that I could use, but I've never used SS before. From what I understand, it's not nearly as easy to work as nickel silver. So, any words of wisdom from those who have? Ed-could I use the same shaping method we did at the class with the 416?

Thanks for any help.

Jeremy
Old 11-01-2012, 09:54 PM
Skilled

Hi Jeremy. The methods to shape it should still be the same. It might take a bit longer.

When it comes to fitting, it won't give and deform nearly as easy as the nickel will so you have to be careful. Make sure you get a good fit going and file carefully. I've found that you usually have to file the slot in 416 a little closer to the actual size of the ricasso than you do with nickel silver. Then carefully press fit it up.

Hope that made sense.

You have nothing to fear but fear itself...........and bears.
Old 11-02-2012, 07:55 AM
Super Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Ed Caffrey Send a message via Yahoo to Ed Caffrey
Ditto to what John said! When you file the tapered hole in the 416, you'll have to get it closer to the shoulders before you "press" it into place. Take it slowly.....sometimes the difference between a tight and sloppy fit can be 1/2 a file stroke! Otherwise everything else is the same.