MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Display Case

The Display Case A place to post your latest knives and creations. Let the Knife Network community see your work first!

Old 04-13-2007, 01:01 AM
Enthusiast

Off Guard and On Guard

The ironwood fighter is the first knife I've made without a guard. I did this because I thought the lines would flow better uninterrupted by a guard. It's 13 1/2" OAL with a 8 1/2" 1095 blade, and the pins in the handle are brass.
The Honey Maple handle on the other knife has my first use of a guard (3/8" thick) that I ground out with a curved hollow indentation to allow the index finger to fit into it. It's 10" OAL with a 6" 1095 blade.
Doing things well is still quite a challenge, but doing things I've never tried before makes it even more interesting.
Thanks,
Bob

Last edited by medit8; 05-12-2007 at 01:08 PM.
Old 04-13-2007, 01:35 AM

I like the general blade shape of number one and I agree that it flows far better than a guarded knife. I make VERY few guards and bolsters. I like things simple.

You might consider spending some more time working down the handle to give it a trimmer, less-bulky look, and more agile feel. That nice profile deserves a sexy finish all 'round.

Great start!

www.kansasknives.org

"Drawing your knife from its sheath and using it in the presence of others should be an event complete with oos, ahhs, and questions."
Old 04-13-2007, 07:13 AM

Bob
I agree with Andy, the blade shape on the first is really nice. If you cut back on the bulkyness and the squareness of the handles it will goa long way to better showing off the blade and the knife. Any squared corners on a handle are usually not a good thing. Looks like a really good start though. I think you have a good eye for the blade shape.
Steve

Old 04-13-2007, 07:26 AM
Hall of Famer