MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Display Case

The Display Case A place to post your latest knives and creations. Let the Knife Network community see your work first!

Old 05-17-2001, 08:43 PM
Raymond Richard

Couple rebar knives

Just finished these today. I don't try to hide the fact that it is rebar. That is the reason I don't put handles on them. I've been making these rebar knifes for at least 6 years. There are different types of rebar, I use 60 grade which means it is at least .60% carbon. Same as 5160 but has all the other alloy under the sun. Any questions, I'll be glad to answer them. Ray

Old 05-17-2001, 08:47 PM
dogman

Cool texturing. They wouldn't look good with handles. What are the hardness and edge retention characteristics?
Old 05-17-2001, 09:19 PM
Raymond Richard

I haven't had these checked for hardness, but the ones I had tested in the past came out a 58 to 59 Rc. They hold an edge well and are easy to sharpen. I heat treated these two with some 52100 blades so they got some home made cryrogenicts, dry ice and kerosene. They could be a bit harder, times I've done the dry ice I usually gained acouple more points hardness.
Old 05-17-2001, 09:26 PM
cajun bones

That's the nicest rebar I've seen yet!

I don't care what you start with, if you end up with a functional knife, it's all good in my book. Do you offer a sheath with the knives?

Chris
Old 05-17-2001, 09:53 PM
Raymond Richard

Chris, I do, but it takes me a while to spin it out of tie wire. I do make leather sheaths for all my knives when I get around to it. Ray
Old 05-18-2001, 06:35 PM
Mike Sader

Ray, my oldest son wants to know what you are asking for one, mite make a sale here
Old 05-18-2001, 07:43 PM
BOB28

First off, nice knives! I like the bigger one.