MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Heat Treating and Metallurgy

Heat Treating and Metallurgy Discussion of heat treatment and metallurgy in knife making.

Old 07-29-2004, 06:25 PM
Registered

Getting a temper line on 1095

I am trying to get a white temper line instead of a black one on a knife i made out of 1095. The blade was finished to 800 grit then etched for 5to 10 min. When it is pulled out from the acid you can see the temp line good, but once you wipe off the acid it becomes very faint almost non existent. By the time i rub it down with polish it is gone. Anybody know what i am doing wrong.

Andy

P.S. I heat the blade to non magnetic quenched in oil and the polish i use is flitz or mothers.
Old 07-29-2004, 06:31 PM
Master

I'm not experienced with really strong acids, but if you're using something slow like vinager then it always takes me a number of repeated etches for it to show well. Do your etch and rub off the black like you have been, but then put it back in the etch. Eventually it'll show well even after you remove the black, though you still need to be carefull polishing, if you overdo it then it will hide the line again.

Old 07-29-2004, 07:10 PM
Skilled

Andy,

I'm in the same boat and am learning this exciting part of blade making myself. I have learned what Andrew said: if you overdo it it will hide the line.

Here's some of the other stuff I've learned:

Part 1: color
A lot of the coloring is oxides left by the etch (black for ferric cloride I believe) most polishes are designed to chemically remove the oxides. So that is one part of the equation.

Part 2: exposing the 'grain' (don't know what else to call it)
Etching eats at the steel at different rates depending on carbides, grain, martensite/pearlite, carbon content.