MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Ed Caffrey's Workshop

Ed Caffrey's Workshop Talk to Ed Caffrey ... The Montana Bladesmith! Tips, tricks and more from an ABS Mastersmith.

Old 11-17-2003, 06:31 PM
Registered

Hidden tang

What is the best way to cut the channel for a hidden tang blade?
Old 11-17-2003, 08:15 PM
Steel Addict

Send a message via ICQ to Paul3
I'm very new at this compared to the others that will answer this But I always just drilld a hole.:confused:

Old 11-18-2003, 07:36 AM
Enthusiast

I like as wide of a tang as is practical, so I end up with a slot fitted as close as I can do . I drill one, or two parallel holes when possible, and open them up with bits I modify to having not a point, but a pair of "spurs". I first flatten the point, and then with a dremel stone cone or conical hollow the flat leaveing spurs. Cuts very quick and easy and is controlable.
Old 11-18-2003, 08:09 AM
Super Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Ed Caffrey Send a message via Yahoo to Ed Caffrey
Hidden tang construction...

There are basically three ways to construct hidden tang knives. One involves a solid block, drilled out as LRB mentioned, the second is what is generally called a "rabbitt" tang construction. In this method handle slabs are used, with each slab being carved out to accept 1/2 of the tangs thickness. The two carved slabs are then glued in such a manner that they envelope the tang. Third, and knife can be made with handle slabs and a "frame" made of mild steel. This design will give the appearance of a full tang, but by virtue of it's design, it allows you to make handles that would otherwise not be possible, such as the "coffin" or "dogbone" handle seen on some bowies.