MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions

Knife Making Discussions A place to discuss issues related to all aspects of the custom knifemaking community.

Old 08-11-2006, 07:15 AM

What's your knife output?

I'm always frustrated because I never have time to get into the shop. However, I did the calculations this morning and discovered that I am doing more than I thought I was!

I've been making knives for 16 months (as a hobbiest) and have completed 28 knives and 22 sheaths. I currently have 8 knives at various levels of completion, with 4 more ordered.

My rate of completion is 1.75 knives per month. Not as bad as I thought it was considering how slowly I work! I'll aim for 2.5 over the next year.

It's good to take stock now and then, so... how are you doing? It will help me to determine where I am on the bell curve.

www.kansasknives.org

"Drawing your knife from its sheath and using it in the presence of others should be an event complete with oos, ahhs, and questions."
Old 08-11-2006, 08:15 AM
Steel Addict

I have never been able to make over 50 knives a year, So far this year I have completed 18. Average hands on time on a knife 58 hours.

Old 08-11-2006, 09:01 AM
Living Legend

That's a hard question for me that a lot of people have been asking lately. As I learn more some things increase my speed some add more time. I've started using stones for sanding and cut my hand finishing time down to 1/8th of what it was but if I try file work (that's try haven't succeed yet) it triples the time. Like you I've only been doing this as a hobby for a short time, about four years, so I'm still in the lower portion of the learning curve as it were. Every little thing I learn seems to cause big changes in how I do things.

Jim

Old 08-11-2006, 09:17 AM
Master