MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > KNet Classifieds :: For-Sale Forums > The Supply Center

The Supply Center What's Hot ... and where the deals are! Supplies are our specialty ...

Old 02-15-2004, 09:05 PM
Enthusiast

admiral woes

I'm only in my third year of knifemaking and certainly don't use the quanities of steel like most of you. However, the 1095 and ATS-34 I have used came from Admiral steel. All of the bar stock was fine, but for my 1/16" pocket folder blades and springs I was disappointed. The first time I purchaced ATS-34 in 1/16" x 6" x 18" sheet and it was acceptable (very flat and scratch-free). This most recent shipment (which also included 1095 in the same size) looked as if it had been kicked around the shop floor for a few days. I called and they allowed me to send the sheets back for replacement. I thought this would be the end of it. Now I'm looking at two sheets of steel that are no better than before. My work will be doubled and my question for you is; am I buying the wrong type or size steel OR do I have a right to be upset? P.S. they do market the product as 'knife steel'.
Thanks, Walker
Old 02-15-2004, 09:56 PM

Over in the "General Knife Related Discussions" forum, Dusty Moulton posted a thread on this very subject under the heading "Unusable batch of ATS-34"...

Here's the link:

http://www.ckdforums.com/showthread....threadid=20166

Dennis Greenbaum

Yeah Baby!

Old 02-15-2004, 10:28 PM
Living Legend

Admiral more than sux of late. I bought a 7 foot bar of S30V, expensive steel. When it arrived, it looked like a sidewinder rattler, warped all to heck. I complained, and they could care less.

Admiral Steel can kiss me arse for any more of my business.
Old 02-16-2004, 11:48 AM
Founding Member / Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Don Cowles