MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-05-2001, 10:18 PM
Lezerd

I'm absolutly a newbie and don't know what i need

like I said I'm an absolute newbie at this and I need some guidance. I plan on forging blades but I'm not sure of what I need to do this.

I have a forge (well in pieces anyway) and I have 1 hammer
so any guidance of what I need for tools and what I should do would be greatly appreciated.

Old 06-05-2001, 11:17 PM
MIKE KOLLER

Welcome!
What kind of forge do you have?
You will need an anvil,tongs,gloves,and something to beat the crap out of.
Also very understanding neighbors.

I do mostly stock removal,but have been playing with forging some here lately,so I won't be too much help but there will be someone along before long that can.

Many of our members are tied up with the 'Blade Show' so just hang around things will pick up soon.
Old 06-06-2001, 05:16 PM
Lezerd

The forge I'm building myself it's going to be made of a tire rim and the air source will be from a hair dryer (will that be enough air for it?) I'll be using charcoal for the fuel.

Thanks for the info I really appreciate it.

Old 06-06-2001, 06:37 PM
Little Hen Knives

HAHA!! another man joins the "Heat & Beat" crowd..right on!! good fer you!
I forge 95% of my blades in a gas forge but I did start on coal and will use it occasionally.

You will need:
- Tongs of various shapes
- an apron or fire proof coveralls
- steel to forge O-1 is a good starter!!
- an anvil
- a bucket of ashes or Vermiculite for puttin hot stuff in or annealing
- a selection of hammers