MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Business of Knife Making

The Business of Knife Making A forum dedicated to all aspects of running, managing and legal operational issues relating to the custom knife making and custom knife selling industry.

Old 12-04-2003, 12:38 PM
Steel Addict

How do you know when it is time?

Howdy all, I was just reading through the other threads on dealers undercutting the maker's retail and it got me to thinking again about a long time standing question that I have, but I didn't want to off track the other discussion.

I am a new maker. I have been making knives for about 18 months now. I think some of you have seen my work here on the forums. I am a part time maker with a full time job to pay the bills. Right now, basically everything I do is at a loss. I sold two knives about a year ago and nothing since. My time is spent making display cases (to hopefully drive in some orders) and making gifts for family and friends.

I love the idea of going full time, but I am also leary about turning a hobby into a job and for whatever reason losing the motivation to make knives. I have no problem being patient and getting better at the craft, paying my dues, learning, etc.

My question(s) is how do you know when it is the right time to start getting a table at shows, submitting photos to magazines, promoting your website, contacting dealers, etc.?

I feel that my work is getting to that level, but I don't want to jump the gun.

Any advice would be appreciated.

TIA

-Sean

"Doing what you believe in is what life is for, anything else is prostitution.".....Ed Fowler

Click on the Hottie to check out my website:

Last edited by Laredo7mm; 12-04-2003 at 12:40 PM.
Old 12-04-2003, 09:04 PM
Guru