MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Business of Knife Making

The Business of Knife Making A forum dedicated to all aspects of running, managing and legal operational issues relating to the custom knife making and custom knife selling industry.

Old 07-22-2003, 09:59 AM
Living Legend

Business vs. Hobby

Hi,

I was curious, how much could you make from the sale of knives before it's considered a taxable business instead of a hobby? I'm not talking about making $1000's, I only want to make enough to Very slowly outfit a shop and pay for materials on the next couple of blades.

Now I know a reasonable profit is not going to happen. Time will be less than $10/hr if not less than a quarter as I'm new with no customer base.

Last question, if I charge $150 for the blade and sheath package I will be making $50 profit. Do I report it as $50 profit or as a blade sold for $150?

Thanks for your time,
Jim

Old 07-22-2003, 10:25 AM
Living Legend

I can't comment on your questions, per se, but will offer one nugget to consider:

Many years ago, I decided that perhaps it would be nice to set my knifemaking up as a business so I could deduct the large expense I was investing for tools in my basement shop. When I investigated this, I was promptly stopped in my tracks when I found out that knifemaking would be considered "light manufacturing", and would thus be an illegal business to operate out of my home because of zoning laws. It was ok as long as it was a "hobby".

You probably have a different circumstance, but this is something to consider if you live in a zoned municipality.