MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > The Business of Knife Making

The Business of Knife Making A forum dedicated to all aspects of running, managing and legal operational issues relating to the custom knife making and custom knife selling industry.

Old 01-15-2003, 11:13 PM
Master

Coloring in Folders

Mr. Robertson Is the use of color in folders getting stronger or do you see ,at this time, a return to the more classic thing of letting materials stand in their natural finished state? Thank you for your reply. Frank Niro.

Old 01-24-2003, 08:47 AM

Hi Frank,

Colors come and go. Ive been hearing for 8 years how tactical knives are so ugly and eventually people will stop buying them. Obviously, those who make these claims no nothing about the current custom knife market.

There are always 10- 20 % who are looking for something different. For many it is a different handle material...like Giraffe Bone. By the way....thats over. So sell them now before the "nice" Stag starts showing up again this year.

One trend I do see on the rise is the use of wood and a nicer finish on folders.

This of course will negate the use of S30V since most makers can't finish past a 400 grit finish. Some can't even get to that point. Look for the term "Machine or Working" Satin Finish to come into vogue.

Timascus was seeing alot of use among makers (who got their initial sample for free). Now that the makers have to pay for it. Many find it hard to justify about twice the cost of well made Damascus. From what I understand the price is coming down on Timascus. If they can make it more competitive (cost wise) as regular Damascus I would look for an increase in use.

I have always held that makers should become as versatile as possible. Learn how to work as many materials as possible.