MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Community Discussion Boards > Knife Network Community > The Watering Hole

The Watering Hole Weekends, girlfriends or happenings ... no knife talk allowed!

Old 11-19-2006, 04:29 PM
Living Legend

Roast your own coffee (lots of pics)

I have been roasting my own coffee for over three years now and I am surprised that so many people don't realize how easy it is. You can do it with equipment that you allready have in your kitchen. All you need is the beans, a cast iron frying pan, wooden spoon and an oven mit or heavy leather glove.

By roasting your own coffee you will save at least 50% on cost, have fresher better tasting coffee, have access to more varieties of coffee and get the exact roast you want.

I use two roasting systems, one I built that can roast up to two lbs. It is a stainless steel drum that slides onto my gas BBQ rotisserie (sp?). It has a hinged lid on one side and a mesh window on the other to allow the chaff to fall out. The rotisserie skewer can still be used for regular BBQing.

I also use an electric roaster from Zach and Dani's for smaller batches.

http://store.coffeeroasting.com/

they are currently out of stock. Here is the same roaster from a different distributor.
http://www.coffee-makers-espresso-ma...-roasters.html

My beans come from The Coffee Project in California. They have a good selection and very good prices. They also carry the mylar gas valve bags which will hold a Lbs. of coffee. I use them when I give home roast coffee as gifts.

http://www.coffeeproject.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=1

Before you go out and buy a roaster you should try it the old fashioned manual way. You should only do it this way outside since the smoke is very obnoxious.

I did this demo on my gas BBQ since it has a regular burner also. A small single burner hotplate will also work.