MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > Fit & Finish

Fit & Finish Fit and Finish = the difference in "good art" and "fine art." Join in, as we discuss the fine art of finish and embellishment.

Old 07-29-2006, 09:10 PM

Best Grinding Belts

Hi,

I am a newbie to knifemaking and would like to know where to get a better-quality 2"x72" grinding belts. Also, what are good grit sizes and grit materials to start out with?

Much appreciate the responses,

Mario
Old 07-29-2006, 11:47 PM
Super Moderator

Send a message via AIM to Ed Caffrey Send a message via Yahoo to Ed Caffrey
Belt choices and grits are as varied as Knifemakers. Everyone has their own favorites.

My personal choices are as follows:

Course belts:
Klingspoor CS411, X weight, 50 grit (blue zirconia)
"Blaze" belts (don't remember the maker) in 50 grit

120 grit: Norton R823 (blue zirconia)

220 grit: Klinspoor LS309 (aluminum oxide)

400/800/1200 grits: Norton "Norax" (structured abrasive) X30=400 grit, X22=800grit, X16=1200git

I grind a bit differently then most. After forging and profiling I rough grind on a 50 grit, then a 120 grit....then it's off to heat treating.

After heat treating I do the final grind almost all the way with a 50 grit, and then jump straight to a Norax X30 (400 grit). This allows me to easily see and remove the 50 grit scratches, plus it saves me a load of time and belts by not going 50, 120, 220, 400, etc. I generally finish up final grinding with either the Norax X30 or X22. Everything else is hand finishing.