MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Damascus Forum

The Damascus Forum The art and study of Damascus steel making.

Old 07-14-2004, 11:37 PM

First post from a newbie steel pounder

Just wanted to say hello
Looks like a great forum and hope to hang around for a while.
I have been doing stock removal blade for the past six years and started forging last week.
Have a propane forge and building another one dedicated to Damascus.
Have had a few successes doing Sai Mai (My favorite so far) and need some of your expert advice.
Assume I know nothing
What are good materials to use for Sai Mai?
Any books or tutorials on making it?
Where can I get a good hammer? Which type?
Should I clean off the scale before welding ?
What is a good book on just forging or making Damascus?
Thats a start!
Thanks
Robert

http://community.webshots.com/album/86024025nCAcfr

Last edited by RobertHankins; 07-14-2004 at 11:40 PM.
Old 07-15-2004, 02:35 AM
Steel Addict

Talking welcometo the forums Robert hankins

I would not be the one to ask as far as Sai Mai goes. But you Deffinatly want to clean off all scale before welding if any is left you will have inclusions and bad welds. The best books you can get that will really help a ton and I have gotten quite a few books on knife making is Jim Hirouslas books. He has three or more books out. the two I have are (THE PATTERN WELDED BLADE) and (THE MASTER BLADESMITH) advanced studies in steel. These will tell you just about everthing a guy needs for the building blocks of forging and forging damascus and composit billets and you name it. They are hands down the most helpful books I have read yet. Also wayne goddard has two books that are very helpful in forging and in making damscus. I would also recommend these.