MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 06-12-2013, 01:38 PM
Enthusiast

New knives I finished

I have been a long time lurker here, and really appreciate some of the knowledge I've picked up and how everybody interacts on the board (not alot of drama). I've been building knives since 2011 and have made quite a few duds, but they're finally starting to take shape and come out the way I envisioned them.

[IMG][/IMG]

They are both A2 with a forced patina finish, desert ironwood scales and brass guard and buttcap. They aren't perfect but have changed alot from my first 10-15 attempts. I have to give credit to RW Wilson, I took a class with him about a month ago and moved me forward in my skill set alot faster than the trial and error I had been working at. All comments appreciated.

God Bless

MM
Old 06-12-2013, 03:04 PM
Steel Addict

Thumbs up

Very impressive. It looks like you are getting the hang of it pretty well.
Where can I find information on the construction techniques for the patina, guard and butt plate.

You know imitation is the highest form of flattery.

Update: I just was on You Tube learning about forcing a patina on a knife blade. The learning never stops.

Last edited by Walt-; 06-12-2013 at 03:30 PM.
Old 06-12-2013, 03:32 PM
Enthusiast

Patina is really simple, it works on carbon, non stainless steels. All I do is take a paper towel, soak it in white vinegar, wrap the blade in the paper towel and leave it set for a couple hours. Take it off and rinse. You want to keep it off the brass b/c it will oxidize the brass also, but that in itself is not a bad look either.

Thanks,

MM
Old 06-13-2013, 06:05 AM
Skilled