MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 12-27-2016, 10:31 AM
Enthusiast

my first few knives

Let me start by saying i have asked several questions on here to help out and all help and suggestions have been great! I know they are not perfect by any means but i am just learning and trying to get into the hobby. These knives did have a forced patina because they had to sit for several weeks and i didnt want any rust to form on the 1084 steel i used. These pics are with the patina, however, i have since removed that and polished them up! Any applauses or criticism is welcome as i want to improve!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20161225_160217 (200x150).jpg (69.4 KB, 58 views)
Old 12-27-2016, 11:14 AM
Hall of Famer

The blades are really hard to see even after clicking on the thumbnail. The resulting picture is not much bigger than the thumbnail. Could you attach a larger picture?

Doug

Old 12-27-2016, 11:33 AM
Enthusiast

is this a better view doug? The edges are razor sharp but you cant tell in the pic due to them not being polished :-(
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20161225_160217 (1000x750) (950x713).jpg (463.1 KB, 47 views)
Old 12-27-2016, 12:20 PM
Master

yup those are bigger , a good start , keep at'r and look back on this pic in a year !!
good work......

Old 12-27-2016, 02:09 PM
Founding Member / Moderator

Looks like a good start. Hopefully, you have tried some of the usual tests up to and including breaking some of your blades. Until you actually use them harder than you would normally expect any reasonable person to use a knife and break a few you don't really know if you've made a real knife or merely something that resembles one ...