MEMBER ITEMS FOR SALE
Custom Knives | Other Knives | General Items
-------------------------------------------

Go Back   The Knife Network Forums : Knife Making Discussions > Custom Knife Discussion Boards > Knife Making Discussions > The Newbies Arena

The Newbies Arena Are you new to knife making? Here is all the help you will need.

Old 08-05-2012, 08:30 PM

Cool My first file knife

Hey guys, this is my first post here, and this here is my first (and second) knife I've ever made. I've modified knives before and even reground a knife I found rusted to #### stuck in a tree in the woods but this is my first time doing anything like this.
So my first one turned out great, I annealed a 8" Nicholson handy mill file in a charcoal barbeque assisted with a hairdyer blowing in the bottom.

I cut it to shape with about thirteen 1" cut off blades supplied with my dremel knock off, each one snapping or being ground down after just a few millimeters of cutting. I ground the tanto tip down pretty well with a file, then did the rest with a handheld 3x21" belt sander. I turn it upside down onto an upside down bucket and held the trigger down with one hand and grind the blade with the other. I used 40 grit and finished it off with 80 grit. Then I tried to harden it in my little barbeque, but couldn't get it hot enough. Then I tried a propane blowtorch, and and the kitchen stove burners, then both together. I tempered it at 400 for an hour and wrapped a basic handle for it. Then I dented the edge pretty bad after it bounced off a tree I threw it into and hit a metal pipe laying in the grass. I straightened the edge out and came up with this: Forge 1.2